• Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
Classifications and standards under review

This page outlines the classifications and related statistical standards we are currently reviewing.

Latest news

Ethnicity New Zealand Standard Classification 2005: New version summary
We have updated the Ethnicity New Zealand Standard Classification 2005. This document summarises the scope of the update, and resulting changes. Version 2.0.0 of the standard classification of ethnicity is now available for use.

Recommendations from consulting on the draft iwi statistical standard (published August 2017)
In April 2017, the iwi review reached a key milestone when the Draft iwi statistical standard was released for consultation. During consultation, we received feedback from a range of users including iwi, Māori, government agencies, councils, and the public. This document summarises the feedback and provides recommendations for finalising the standard.

Iwi statistical standard: Terms of reference for the Interim Governance Group (published June 2017)
This document describes the background of the iwi statistical standard and the purpose of the Interim Governance Group. It outlines the composition of the group, how group members are remunerated, group and chair responsibilities, conflicts of interest, and decision making.

Iwi statistical standard: 2017 review consultation (published April 2017)
Submissions for the Iwi statistical standard are now closed. We aim to complete the standard in August 2017 after we’ve considered and incorporated the feedback.

Statistical standard for geographic areas: 2015–-17 review (published October 2016)
We are reviewing the statistical standard for geographic areas. In December 2015, we asked for feedback on proposals for new small-area output geographies and the urban/rural classification. We now invite users of statistical geographies to help us redraft the urban boundaries and design the replacement for area units – the statistical area 2 (SA2) geography.

Statistical standard for iwi: 2016 review findings and recommendations (October 2016)
The consultation process for the statistical standard for iwi is complete. We have published two papers reflecting the findings and recommendations from the review. We’re now in the process of revising the iwi statistical standard and classification.

Statistical standard for iwi: 2016 review (April 2016)
We are reviewing the statistical standard for iwi. We aim to better meet the needs of those who use iwi statistics by reviewing the concepts, definitions, criteria, and procedures we use.

If you have any questions, please contact classifications@stats.govt.nz

Page updated 1 September 2017

  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+
Top
  • Share this page to Facebook
  • Share this page to Twitter
  • Share this page to Google+